Guinness Chicken!

February 13, 2008

Sorry it has taken so long to post! Things have been real busy. First of all, thank you to everyone that sent me a recipe. It has been a lot of fun looking them over. As I try each one I am going to post it here. The first one I tried was from Mrs. P. It was great!

Guinness Chicken!


This is great because it is 1) easy, 2) easy and 3) uses beer, which your body needs anyway!

You’ll need:

1 whole chicken
1 bottle/can Guinness
1 small onion
1/2 stick butter
2 tbsp sour cream
1 tsp sage (optional)
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400.
Rinse the chicken and pat it dry inside and out. Put the chicken in a roasting pan.
Melt the butter in a saute pan over medium heat. Mince the onion and add to melted butter. Add salt/pepper/sage and simmer until onion is soft and translucent (3-5 minutes or so). Remove pan from heat. Take one large drink of Guinness and then add the rest to the butter-onion mixture. Stir together and then pour over chicken. Bake chicken 45 min. or so (until it’s done), basting occasionally.

Sauce:
When the chicken is ready, pour the drippings back into the saute pan you used for the onion. (See – you don’t have to dirty another pan, nor wash the first one!) Add sour cream and cook over medium heat, stirring until the sour cream and the drippings are one bitchin’ sauce. (If the sauce is too runny, you can either reduce it over heat or add a bit of cornstarch and water.)

Very easy!! Thanks so much for sending it to me. I found the pricing works out like this:

Guiness – $7.99 for a six pack. So $1.33 per bottle.

Chicken – $3.75

Onion – $1.02

Sour Cream – .89

Total cost to me $6.99

I left out the staples such as butter and sage. Some people may not have sage. If you don’t it costs around $2.29. I highly recommend this recipe for everyone. If you are like me and have never cooked a whole chicken this is a good time to start. I was amazed at how cheap a whole chicken was and how easy it is to prepare. A great benefit to this dish is it looks fancy when you pull it out of the oven. Your guests will never know that it takes little knowledge to cook. I have made other notes about this recipe but will not post them till I have tried all of the other recipes.

Here it is getting ready to go in the oven:

Baking!

Fully cooked:

Cut up and served (I ended up with only two bottles of Guinness left!)

5 Responses to “Guinness Chicken!”

  1. Mrs. T said

    That looks great! Good job!

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Mrs. T – Thanks! It was so easy! I am very excited about getting more whole chickens at Kroger for only $3.75! You can see by the pictures how juicy the chicken was. Also note how large it was! It has feed me for days!

  3. solitaryrefinement said

    Carla – is that a good Hmmm or a bad Hmmm?

  4. […] Guinness Chicken recipe that she sent in is just right for a bachelor. It was easy, had a low cost, ate it for days, […]

Leave a comment