Meatloaf Cordon Bleu

February 22, 2009

Meatloaf, good. Cordon Bleu, good. Meatloaf Cordon Bleu, awesome! I received this in an email from allrecipes.com and had to try it. I was not disappointed at all! It is a little more complicated than normal meatloaf, but is well worth the additional effort. Here it is…

2 pounds extra-lean ground beef
1 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs
1 small onion, chopped
2 eggs, beaten
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
4 ounces thinly sliced cooked ham
4 ounces provolone cheese, sliced
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a medium bowl, mix together the ground beef, bread crumbs, eggs, and onion. Season with garlic powder, salt and pepper. Pat the meat mixture out onto a piece of waxed paper, and flatten to 1/2 inch thick. Lay slices of ham onto the flattened meat, and top with slices of cheese. Pick up the edge of the waxed paper to roll the flattened meat up into a log. Remove waxed paper, seal the ends and seam, and place the loaf into a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
3. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the loaf is no longer pink inside.

Mixing together the first ingredients is just like any other meatloaf. I tend to do it in smaller amounts and slowly add everything together. That way I know all the spices are evenly distributed in the mixture. Here it is all mixed up ready for the next step…

Now it is time to make this meatloaf into Cordon Bleu meatloaf. I took the mixture out and placed it on some wax paper. I tend to have a lot of wax paper around, but if you don’t, it is very cheap at the store. I flatted the mixture out till it was about half an inch thick all around. I then placed the ham and cheese on top…

The next part can be a little tricky. I took one end of the wax paper and lifted it up. This started the meatloaf to curl a little bit. I then took the meatloaf and continued to curl it till it became a loaf again. I then sealed up the ends and seam…

Now it was time to put it in the oven. So the steps for this are really not to bad. It smells great as it cooks. When it was done I pulled it out and noticed I had not sealed the seams very well. It had split open a little bit. I am not to concerned with presentation and it does not effect the taste. The ham burned a little, but it still was great!

Here is a photo after I had cut a piece out. I did notice that the cheese and ham were closer to the top of the loaf. Next time I will flatten it out more so that they are closer to the middle. This is probably why it opened up in the oven.

3 Responses to “Meatloaf Cordon Bleu”

  1. Mr. Parx said

    Gotta use the loaf pan there to prevent the splitting. I can see you have one. Meat Loaf –> Loaf Pan. Looks great otherwise.

    Best,

    Mr. P.

  2. Ms. Parx said

    Update your site, bitch.

Leave a Reply

