Frozen Sandwich Project

February 8, 2009

I keep seeing all these different types of frozen sandwiches at the grocery store. Unfortunately they are very expensive. I was thinking that maybe I could make my own sandwiches and freeze them. For me this is all about convenience. Sometimes I am running out the door for work and don’t have time to make a sandwich. I thought it would be nice to have a bunch of them in my freezer. Looking at the different variates available, I decided on trying a turkey with cheese and bacon bits on white bread. I did not add any mayonnaise.

I then used the ziploc freezer bags and air removal pump to seal them real tight. This really flattened the sandwiches out. I thought it would be better to get as much of the air out than to have the sandwich look nice.

A lot of my friends think I am crazy for trying this. I was very careful about what I used. I know mayonnaise is very bad to freeze. When ready to eat, just take it out of the bad and microwave for between one and two minutes. It is going to be interesting to see if this works. Anyone have any ideas about this?

5 Responses to “Frozen Sandwich Project”

  1. Becks said

    How about pimento cheese sandwiches? Pimento cheese is actually really yummy and easy to make (mix shredded cheddar, mayo and pimentos), and I would think that it could be frozen. What other choices do you have other than meat, cheese and PB&J?

    • solitaryrefinement said

      Hi Becks – I might have to try making some pimento cheese. Sounds easy to make. I bet if would not freeze very well since it has mayo in it. I keep forgetting that you are vegetarian. It is about time I post something good that does not have any meat in it. Email me your favorite recipe and I will give it a try. Thanks!

  2. Rroberto said

    There are insulated lunch boxes out there now. Keeps your food hot or cold and non crushed. Grab some fast food mayo and mustard packets when you can and you’re good to go. You don’t have to work that hard to be cheap thrifty.

    • solitaryrefinement said

      Rroberto – My idea was to have them in the freezer. Then, when I am running late I can just grab one. It is more of a time saver further down the road. I used to keep a ziploc bag full of fast food condiments. They are very convenient.

  3. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH MYYYYYYYYYYYYY GOSSSSSSH YOU GAVE ME THE BEST IDEA EVER!!!!!!!!!! I AM GOING TO MAKE 10 at a time and freeze um! I work 9-6, make 8$ an hour live 2mins from my work and have amillion bills and come out breaking even or less at the end of month, so i need cheap food ideas and hot sammiches are awesome i make my fav wich is: wheat bread, some kind of turkey or ham, swiss cheese, parmasean cheese, pepper, oragano, garlic salt, letuce, spicy mustard or pepercorn ranch or italian dressing, relish sometimes if im feeling frisky, defanitly onions, bacon bits, ill put anything. Well freezing all that and having readily availible mmmmm, i sometimes put that all togehter and put it in a george forman grille and cook it all together mmmmm thats the shit!!!!!!!!!!
    i call that “wam bam thank you sammiches” (like sandwiches pronounces sam-itch-is) patent pending
    -corey

Leave a Reply

