Showtime Rotisserie

January 24, 2009

I am sure you have seen the infomercials on TV for the Ronco Showtime Rotisseries. I have to say they really work! I got the smaller compact model and so far love it. When you go to the grocery store they sell rotisserie chickens for around $7.00. Now I can cook my own rotisserie chicken for around $4.00. It only takes a little over an hour to fully cook the chicken. The rotisserie also has a basket that goes in it to cook things like chicken wings, steaks, or even vegetables. I am really looking forward to trying some rotisserie wings!

Here is a photo of the model I got. I also put some tin foil in the back behind the heating element to make clean up even easier.

The first step after washing the chicken is to season it any way you like. I like to you lemon pepper seasoning. I sometimes also cut a lemon in half and put it in the cavity. A very important step is to tie the bird up. If you don’t do this the wings will come out and start hitting the heating element. The Showtime Rotisserie comes with elastic ties that are easy to use. You can also use twine. Here is one chicken ties up.

Then all you have to do is insert the rods into the chicken. It is very simple. It even comes with a stand to hold it up.

Then just put it in and turn the rotisserie on!

It really comes out great. Very juicy and cooked all the way though.

2 Responses to “Showtime Rotisserie”

  1. DTBG's GF said

    Looks good, Doll! You should try a little sea salt with herbs rubbed onto the skin. Not too much, of course.

    How long does the chicken last you?

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Hi DTBG’s GF – Great idea about the sea salt. I picked up some smoked salt from Angel’s BBQ the other day and want to try that too. A chicken will normally last around three days for me. That is if I am having it for lunch and dinner. A rotisserie chicken is so versatile! I have added the chicken to salads, made sandwiches, and even put it in soups. I also want to try lamb in the rotisserie, like a kabob that you would get from a street vendor in Europe. I am kind of afraid to see how much lamb costs!

Leave a Reply

