Porcupines

December 24, 2008

It was this unique name that first caught my attention when looking for a new recipe. I was on allrecipes.com trying to find something easy to cook for the week. I had no idea why they were called Porcupines until I took them out of the oven. As you will see later in this post it is pretty cool! Recipe link here.

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup uncooked white rice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup water
  1. In a large bowl, combine the ground beef, rice, 1/2 cup of water and onion. Blend in salt, celery salt, garlic powder and pepper. Mix well. Shape into 1 1/2 inch balls.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). In a large skillet over medium heat, brown the meatballs; drain fat.
  3. In an 11×7 inch baking dish, combine the tomato sauce and 1 cup of water. Place the browned meatballs into the tomato sauce, turning to coat well.
  4. Cover and bake in a preheated oven for 45 minutes. Uncover, and cook for an additional 15 minutes.

One of the things that is great about this recipe is that most of the ingredients are common ingredients that I already had on hand. Mixing the meat mixture was very easy. I am guessing it has to do with adding water. In the past when I made meatballs I had a terrible time getting them to form properly. Not this time! After forming them the recipe says to brown them. This was also very easy. I was a little afraid that they would fall apart as I tried to roll them around. They held their shape very well. I think I made them a little bigger than the recipe called for, but who cares. Here they are formed and ready to be browned…

After they were browned I added them to the tomato sauce and rolled them around. I covered them and put them in the oven for 45 minutes. This was a favorite part because I was able to sit down and have a beer. After the 45 minutes I uncovered them and was totally caught off guard. This is why they are called Porcupines…

I never thought they would do that! If you can’t see in the picture, the rice started poking out of the meatballs. I returned them to the oven for 15 more minutes. They came out just perfectly done. I also made some mashed potatoes and corn to make this a full meal. It was great!

Price Breakdown…

Beef $1.99

Tomato Sauce $0.55

TOTAL COST $2.54

I already had everything else to cook this dish. Very common ingredients.

4 Responses to “Porcupines”

  1. mrparx said

    In your estimation, how many servings?

    -Mr. P.

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Mr. P. – If you have it with mashed potatoes and a vegetable I would say about 8. Each “Porcupine” with all that other stuff is a serving.

  3. Mrs. T said

    They’re too cute to eat!

  4. solitaryrefinement said

    Mrs. T. – But they are SO taste!

Leave a Reply

