Taco Pie

December 14, 2008

I found an interesting recipe on allrecipies.com that I had to try. It is called Taco Pie. I love tacos, but they don’t keep well over the week. I liked this because it was a cross between tacos and a casserole. The recipe said that you can top it with any kind of taco sides like lettuce and tomatoes. I just kept mine plan.

  • 1 (8 ounce) package refrigerated crescent rolls
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 (1 ounce) package taco seasoning mix
  • 1 (16 ounce) container sour cream
  • 8 ounces shredded Mexican-style cheese blend
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) package crushed tortilla chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Lay crescent dough flat on the bottom of a square cake pan and bake according to package directions.
  3. Meanwhile, brown the ground beef in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the taco seasoning and stir together well. When dough is done, remove from oven and place meat mixture on top, then layer with sour cream and cheese, and then top off with the crushed nacho chips.
  4. Return to oven and bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 10 minutes, or until cheese has melted.

I had some crescent dough left after I covered the bottom of the pan, so I went up some of the sides with it. That ended up turning out pretty well. Here is how I lined the pan with the dough…

I put it in the oven and let it bake according to the directions on the package. It started smelling great! I was ready just to eat the crescent rolls!

One thing I was not sure about was how to add the taco seasoning to the ground beef. I ended up just pouring the powder onto the beef and mixing it up. The package said to add water, but the recipe did not call for it. I think I made the right choice. I added the beef mixture and sour cream into the dish. The recipe now calls for 14.5 oz of chips. This is a typical bag size. I crushed the chips up in the bag and topped the casserole. I definitely did not need the whole bag. I now wish I had only crushed just the amount of chips I needed. I ended up throwing a bunch out that I could have used with a dip if they were still whole. Here it is about to go in the oven…

See what I mean? That’s a lot of chips on top! I let it bake for the 10 minutes the recipe called for. I had hoped that the chips would have browned a little but they did not. It really turned out great though. Here is a little side photo so you can see how it layers…

It lasted me about three days. Great taste. The only problem I had was about the second day the chips started to get stale. Probably because it was in the refrigerator and then heated back up in a microwave. But all in all I really liked this. Here is the price breakdown…

Chips $3.80

Sour Cream $1.16

Taco Mix $0.43

Cheese $2.19

Beef $1.99

Rolls $1.34

TOTAL COST $10.91

Leave a Reply

