Honey Chicken

November 16, 2008

The other morning before work I watched an episode of Mr. Food. He was doing a dish called Honey Chicken. It looked very similar to sesame chicken that I get from my local Chinese restaurant. I gave it a try and at first was not to happy. But the next day when I heated the left overs back up it was much better. Maybe the honey mixture just needed time to soak in. Here is the recipe off the Mr. Food site.

1 cup all-purpose flour
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup water
1/3 cup sesame seeds
Vegetable oil for frying
1-1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch chunks
1/2 cup honey
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 teaspoon soy sauce

  1. In a large bowl, make a batter by combining the flour, baking powder, salt, and water; mix well.
  2. In a large deep skillet, toast the sesame seeds over medium-high heat, until golden. Remove from the skillet and set aside.
  3. Reduce the heat to medium, add 1/4 inch oil to the skillet, and heat the oil until hot but not smoking. Dip the chicken pieces in the batter, coating completely, then cook in batches for 2 to 3 minutes per side, or until golden. Drain on a paper towel-lined platter.
  4. Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, warm the honey, garlic, and soy sauce over low heat for 4 to 6 minutes, stirring occasionally. Place the chicken in a large bowl and pour the warm honey sauce over it. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, and toss until the chicken is well coated. Serve immediately.

Coating the chicken pieces in the batter was a little more difficult than I thought. In my mind I was thinking I could just roll the chicken pieces around in it and that would be good enough. But the batter is so sticky it was hard to get it to stay on the chicken and not my hands! I finally got the pieces coated and started frying them.

As you can also see by the above picture, I have the honey mixture on the back burner. I also added a few drops of sesame seed oil to the mixture. If you do this be very careful to only add a few drops. Sesame seed oil is very strong! I cooked the chicken in batches and let drain on a paper towel.

When all the chicken was done and the honey mixture was warm, I transferred it over to a large bowl and and poured the honey mixture over the chicken. I then tossed the chicken to get it covered nicely. I then added the sesame seeds and tossed again.

Like I said, when I first tried it was was not too happy. But the left overs were much better. Does anyone have any ideas how to make this better? Here is the price breakdown.

Chicken Breast $3.36

Sesame Seeds $3.79

Honey $3.59

Total $10.74

I had the other ingredients already, so add a little more if you don’t. Next time I will get some local honey and not Kroger brand.

4 Responses to “Honey Chicken”

  1. Rroberto said

    Ancient Chinese secret. You just have to keep going to Chinese restaurants to get it that good.

  2. DTBG's GF said

    You could always try adding a little pineapple or lemon for a bit of a different twist. If not that then next time I would try adding a pinch of minced ginger and would cook/stir fry the chicken on a low heat in the sauce rather than just coating them. I think it will help get the flavor all the way through the meat. If you don’t want to bother with that, then go for a lighter flavored honey.

    You got an idea for our little exchange set up yet? ;o)

  3. solitaryrefinement said

    DTBG’s GF – Great suggestions! Thanks! I will send you and email about the exchange set up. I have some good ideas for it.

  4. chumpman said

    this is very simple! and looks so good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

