My Wonder Washer is Dead!

September 6, 2008

I have some really bad news. After seven months of intense use my Wonder Washer has died. The motor will no longer activate. The time works fine but the clothes won’t spin. I took it apart and it looks like there is nothing I can do short of replacing the motor. So now comes the big question. Should I order a new Wonder Washer or try to find something else to replace it. Any ideas? I would like something a little larger. I should order the replacement machine on Monday so I don’t get too behind on my laundry.

5 Responses to “My Wonder Washer is Dead!”

  1. Mrs. T said

    Did you decide what to order? Inquiring minds want to know!

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Mrs. T – Check out the post I just added about the Wonder Wash.

  3. suzette said

    Oh no, that’s bad news!!! I just bought one because of your youtube video!! I love mine but the base doesn’t seem to be locking….Anyway, let us know what you decide! Good Luck!

  4. solitaryrefinement said

    Suzette – I really did like my Wonder Washer. I just used it so much and even tried over loading it on purpose to see what it could do. It took a lot of abuse from me. I took it apart and would have been able to replace the motor, but decided to try something else. I wonder why your base is not locking in place? Does the whole bucket spin around? Kinda strange. I will let you know what I decide on. Best of luck!

  5. I have seen a persuasive youtube video about the small blue Panda washer, which might work well for you.

    However, I went ahead and ordered a Wonder Washer because I think it will fit the bill for what I need, which is a mechanical way to beat my underwear and washcloths into being clean. For skirts and shirts, which don’t get very dirty, I have been getting good results with a system of two buckets and a new rubber plunger. I’ve also set up a system for draining them – I’m pretty big and draining the water from a heavy fall sweater takes some time.

    But what sold me on the Wonder Washer is the fact the sound it makes is pretty similar to a blender. Until I can get my real washer fixed, the sound of it will just convince my neighbors I really like homemade coleslaw, and the landlord is none the wiser 🙂

Leave a Reply

