Thai Coconut Chicken Soup

April 30, 2008

I have been craving Coconut Chicken Soup for weeks, but could not bring myself to walk down to my local Thai restaurant and spend $7.00 on a small bowl of soup. I looked around for some recipes and found this one from foodnetwork.com.

1 quart chicken stock

1 stalk lemon grass, white part only, cracked open with the flat side of a knife

3 kaffir lime leaves, fresh or dried, hand torn

1 (3-inch) piece fresh ginger, peeled and thinly sliced

2 small Thai chilies, halved lengthwise

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 (13-ounce) can unsweetened coconut milk

2 tablespoons Thai fish sauce (nam pla)

1 ½ teaspoons sugar

1 (8-ounce) can straw mushrooms, rinsed

4 limes, juiced

1 ½ cups shredded cooked chicken

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro

Bring the stock to a boil over medium heat in a soup pot. Add the lemon grass, kaffir lime leaves, ginger, chilies, and garlic. Lower the heat to medium-low, cover, and gently simmer for 10 minutes to let the spices infuse the broth.

Uncover and stir in the coconut milk, fish sauce, sugar, mushrooms, lime juice, and chicken. Simmer for 5 minutes to heat the chicken through; season with salt and pepper. Ladle the soup into a soup tureen or individual serving bowls. Garnish with cilantro. Be careful to avoid chewing the lemongrass, ginger, or lime leaves.

What! This recipe was way over my head (and my small kitchen). I still decided to give it a try. My first challenge came when I stepped foot into Kroger. Where do I find these ingredients? I spent about an hour walking around trying to locate the items and finally gave up. I ended up not using lime leaves or Thai chilies. I also did not buy any cilantro for a garnish.

All went according to plan as I started cooking. This recipe used a lot of dishes and pans! All in all, it came out ok. I had never used fresh ginger before and ended up with more of a ginger soup with a slight coconut flavor. Final cost was $9.64. Not too bad considering it made a lot! However, I don’t think I will do this again. Does anyone have an easier recipe?

5 Responses to “Thai Coconut Chicken Soup”

  1. mappyb said

    That sounds really good. I bet you could find the other ingredients at Fresh Market – although I know Kroger has cilantro (at least in those tube things)…but if you never use it, why waste the rest? You could use it for salsa too thought. I digress. The soup sounds delicious, I have never made that before. It’s gluten free too! You might be able to just go buy it in a can though next time you have a craving – there’s a good little selection at Brighter Day. 🙂

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    MappyB – I knew I should have called you! This is your kind of recipe! Thanks for the cilantro idea. I have been meaning to try a home made salsa. I also had no idea I could get Coconut Chicken Soup in a can. Good luck with your finals!

  3. Robert Richards said

    Try recipezaar.com. I saw a more simple one there. Got a good spaghetti sauce recipe?

  4. solitaryrefinement said

    Robert – Thanks for the website! If you have a spaghetti recipe I would love to try it! Feel free to email it to me.

  5. Number One Fan said

    I heard you’re a Rock Star!

Leave a Reply

