Pizza Dough and Sauce

April 22, 2008

First of all, I need to apologize to all of you for my lack of posts. I have been running around like a crazy person for the last couple weeks. I realized, thanks to some emails and posts, I never gave you my pizza dough and pizza sauce recipe! How can you make home made pizza without dough and sauce!

The dough recipe I use makes a nice thick crust. I originally found it for make two pie, but have adopted it to make one large pie. I have a pizza stone that has a diameter of 15 inches. This barely fits into my small apartment size oven! If you do not have a pizza stone, I recommend getting one. If you don’t want to buy one, I have heard that unglazed tiles can be used. You can place the tiles side by side to create a pizza stone. This might be useful to my construction friends that have easy access to tiles. As far as the dough recipe goes, this is what I use…

  1. Follow the directions on your yeast package. This normally is putting the yeast into warm water (100-110 degrees) and adding sugar (1 teaspoon). When the mixture at least doubles, it is ready.
  2. Put 1 cup of flour, 1 teaspoon of salt, 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large mixing bowl. Slowly add the yeast mixture and about ¾ cup water.
  3. Stir this mixture just to make to soft. (might need more flour)
  4. Take the dough out and kneed it on a floured surface. Don’t do it for too long, about 5 minutes. (Don’t be afraid to use more flour!)
  5. Oil a bowl with olive oil and place the dough in it. Cover the bowl to with plastic wrap and let it sit till it at least doubles in size.
  6. Punch it down and it is ready to go!

Pizza Sauce is really a personal preference. I like mine with a little extra garlic. If you go to the store you will find many different pre-made pizza sauces. I find all of these very over priced! A basic pizza sauce that can be customized started with this basic recipe…

  1. 6 oz of tomato paste (luckily this is one can)
  2. 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  3. ½ teaspoon basil
  4. ½ teaspoon oregano
  5. 1-2 medium cloves of garlic
  6. ½ teaspoons of salt
  7. ¼ cup of olive oil
  8. ½ cup water

All you have to do it mix the ingredients together and you have a wonderful pizza sauce. Feel free to change the amounts of any of the ingredients. For example, I like to add more garlic and oregano to mine. I found that the water is just used to make the texture right.

Let me know if you give this a try! I have always had great luck with this!

2 Responses to “Pizza Dough and Sauce”

  1. George said

    Thanks for the recipe! Will let you know how it works out this week.

  2. […] easy and a great long lasting meal. I am still using my old recipe for pizza sauce. You can find it here in one of my posts. I tend to add a little more garlic to it depending on the mood I am in. Sometimes I use the frozen […]

Leave a Reply

