Recalled!

March 24, 2008

As you know I have had some bad luck in the past with food recalls. I have been so good about cooking my own food with fresh ingredients that I have not been involved in a recall in a couple months. Saturday I was at Kroger and wanted to get some cheap easy lunch foods that I could just microwave. I picked out a couple Hot Pockets and went to the check out. I scanned the items and a message came up on the screen telling me to put the last scanned item back on the scanner and wait for the attendant. She came up and told me I could not buy this variety of Hot Pocket because it has been recalled. I said OK and purchased the other four varieties. When I got home I thought that I should make sure I did not have any of the recalled Hot Pockets. Sure enough I do! The Kroger Casher had taken away my “Croissant Crust Philly Steak and Cheese Hot Pocket” but let me purchase the “Philly Steak and Cheese Hot Pocket” (Not Croissant Crust). It is very hard to find any details about this recall. It is not on the Hot Pocket Website. I did find some information on other news sites. Here is a Google search result for the recall. I guess I will go ahead and write a “nice” letter to Nestle USA that produces the Hot Pocket product. As usual I will post the letter here as well.

In other recall news, I still have not heard back from Con Agra. Con Agra had produced the chicken pot pies that were recalled over six months ago. I guess I will also have to write them a second letter to see where my compensation is. No more microwave meals for me! I am going to stay with fresh cooked food! What is going on with all these food recalls?!?!

One Response to “Recalled!”

  1. Mr. Parx said

    Don’t you give up on what is rightfully yours! And by yours, I mean, as many free products as you can weasel out of them.

    Best,
    Mr. P.

Leave a Reply

