St. Patrick’s Day Gathering

March 17, 2008

The St. Patrick’s Day parade was Friday the 14th here in Savannah. I live on the parade route, so I a great view of the parade. Here is a picture of the parade from my balcony.

A parade is not the same without great food! Since the parade has a huge draw of people, everyone tries to get to their spots early. I decided to start with a good breakfast for everyone. The breakfast consisted of Shambled Eggs, Biscuits, Jam, and Grits. I also had snack food out. For lunch I did a slow cooked Corned Beef and Cabbage. I put it in my crook pot at 1:00am and it was ready at 10:00. Just in time for the parade! Here are a whole bunch of pictures. I am still real tired so this is going to be a short post. When I feel a little better I will post the recipes. If you have any questions about the food, drop me a line.

3 Responses to “St. Patrick’s Day Gathering”

  1. Mrs. T said

    I have a question…. why Andre? And what’s the empty area in the fridge saved for?

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Mrs. T – Andre was only $4.50 per bottle and was for Mimosas. No need to buy the expensive stuff when it is being mixed with OJ. That big empty hole was where the Shambled Eggs where. I took this picture about 7:00am. I can tell because the milk is already down from using it to make Grits. I have a lot more photos from the kitchen, I might try to start a Flickr page to show everyone. Thanks for the questions!

  3. solitaryrefinement said

    I was looking at the picture of the parade and noticed five of the bag pipers in the parade are looking up to my balcony. HA! I guess we really were the loudest spot on the route!

Leave a Reply

