Drau Stew

February 25, 2008

Yes, I know it is kind of a strange name for a dish, but I was not disappointed. The Drau sent this to with the heading “Dude…this is SO easy!” She was absolutely right! This was about as easy as they come. Here it is…

Dude….this is SO easy and just gets better with age….makes lots and it freezes REALLY well.

2 (two) jars of your choice of pasta sauce. I recommend Classico Mushroom/Black Olives and Garlic/Basil

Stew Chunks (Pork or Beef….you can get Beef already chopped up so yay easy)

1 (one) or 2 (two) carrots, chopped

As many potatoes as you want, chopped

one decent sized clove of garlic (or garlic powder if you prefer)

as much onion as you want (or you could substitute onion powder/salt)

Mushrooms (couple of those small cans will work)

2 Bay Leaves

Oregano

Black pepper (to taste)

Salt (seasoned salt is awesome but regular will do…to taste)

Dump contents of pasta sauce into pot. Add enough water for the consistancy you like….more water if you like it more soupy, less if you like thick. Oh yeah….brown meat before adding it to the sauce. This speeds up the cooking time. Add veggies and spices. Heat to a boil. Lower heat to simmer and cover. Cook until potatos and carrots are cooked. Serve with bread of choice for tasty dunking and enjoy.

If you kept the now empty pasta jars you can freeze your left overs in this. Otherwise, use whatever you prefer. Reheats easily and just gets better and better. Yum!

La!

This stew can be changed into many different kinds of stew. You can substitute various ingredients to change the taste. For my first attempt I tried to stay as close to the original recipe as I could. I went the beef chunks that that are precut in the meat department. The potatoes I had a little trouble with. The Drau recommended using red potatoes. I just could not find any at Kroger. I ended up just getting regular potatoes. As I was leaving the produce section I found the red potatoes. Too late, I did not want to unpack the potatoes I just picked up. Next dilemma was the pasta sauce. The two recommended Classico sauces were sold out. I ended up getting Kroger brand mushroom and Kroger brand tomato with basil. These worked just fine. I also should have called my friend that owns a restaurant and asked to get two bay leaves. I bought a whole box of bay leaves! Luckily they can last for about a year. For the pricing I only put down 25 cents for the bay leaves because I now have a lot for other recipes. Here is the pricing…

Pasta Sauce 2 jars for $2.06

Stew Chunks (beef) $5.38

Carrots $0.35

Potatoes $1.62

Garlic $0.50

Onion $0.46

Mushrooms $1.25

Bay Leaves $.25

Grand Total $11.87

One big benefit with this dish is the lack of having to clean a lot of dishes after cooking. I only used a cutting board, knife, peeler, frying pan, spoon, and a large pot. I took her advice and browned the meat first. Here is the meat browning…

Here are the rest of the ingredients in the pot…

And here is the finished product!

The quantity is incredible! You can really make a lot of this. I have frozen some to see how it is in a few weeks. Thanks Little Drau for sending this to me! It was great!!!

3 Responses to “Drau Stew”

  1. Robert Richards said

    That does look great. I think I’ll try that myself.

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Robert – Give it a try! It came out very well!

  3. solitaryrefinement said

    Somethings I might do differently. I might try to add beer to it instead of water. Or add more meat. I like meat!!

Leave a Reply

