Laundry Alternative

February 20, 2008

Laundry can be a real pain. For years I have been going to the local Laundromat. I try to go once a week. I really don’t mind going that much, it is just more of a headache setting the time aside. I think I am going to order one of these mini washers from Amazon.

What do you think? Do you think it will work? It only does a very very small load. That’s fine for me. I can sit a home and watch TV or cook dinner. It only costs $36.95 plus $19.40 shipping. This machine only washes the clothes. What about drying? I am also thinking about ordering one of these.

This is not a full dryer. It only spins the clothes to remove water. They still come out damp. I will have to hang them up to dry. For only $69.95 plus $12.31 shipping, I think it is worth it. I think between the two machines this might work. I am going to give it a couple more days before I order them to think about it.

7 Responses to “Laundry Alternative”

  1. Mrs. T said

    These might work but I don’t think they’re made to be used regularly. It’s prolly made for delicates, not pleated pants. I don’t think they’d hold up very well.

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Mrs. T – For the price I think it might be worth a try. I just hate going all the way to Spin City to do my laundry. I really have to go tonight, but already I have been trying to talk myself out of it! I think they would cut down on the number of trips to the laundromat, but not replace the laundromat.

  3. Mr. Parx said

    Anything that lets you sit at home and watch tv is worth it. It’s advertised ON tv, for goodness’ sake. Stick w/ liquid detergent, though. Powder cakes up.

    Remeber: caking = breaking

    Best,
    Mr. P.

  4. solitaryrefinement said

    Mr. P. – I have never been a fan of powder detergent. I really think I am going to give this a try. Take tonight for example. I have to do laundry. I would rather sit at home watching TV drinking beer and do 8 loads with this machine than sit at Spin City doing nothing. This machine still requires some work, but still outweighs the alternative.

  5. Robert Richards said

    You will be better off getting a wash tub and board. You can probably find a good used washer and dryer for what that pair going to cost you. And I agree with Mr. P. on the liquid detergent. The hard water here in Savannah is bad on powdered soap.

  6. solitaryrefinement said

    Robert – Unfortunately I do not have a washer/dryer hookup in my apartment. This little washer eliminates the need to hand wash. I still have not ordered it yet. I want to think about it some more.

Leave a Reply

