The Debate Hits MSN!!

February 15, 2008

I just saw this article on MSN Money. “Is Eating out Cheaper than Cooking?” Apparently I am not the only one that sits around and debates this. But so far my answer is no. Clearly I have been saving money, eating better, and having more fun in the kitchen. I still eat out, don’t get me wrong, I just don’t do it as much. Last night I was so tempted to get some food from the bar around the corner, but told myself no, you have food at home. How much did I save? I guess around $5.00. I was going to order a southern wrap and just bring it home. Instead I went home and made a tuna melt. The final cost of my tuna melt was far below a southern wrap.

4 Responses to “The Debate Hits MSN!!”

  1. Robert Richards said

    Let’s cut all the excuses. It’s a lot easier to stop at KFC and pay 15 dollars for a bucket than it is to go to Kroger and get maybe twice the equivalent. Eating at home is not entirely about the expense, it’s an opportunity to spend quality time with your kid. Nothing is more bonding than creating something together in the kitchen. And knowing how to cook can help you in those times where spending 5 bucks on a package of wieners and a pack of buns and getting a few days of meals is cheaper than spending that same 5 bucks at say Taco Bell and eating one meal. What are going to do tommorow?

  2. Carla said

    Dig in the dumpstar.

  3. solitaryrefinement said

    Rrroberto – I agree 100% Some of my best memories are of my Mother cooking in the kitchen. It was quality family time. Hope to see you at the bar this week!

  4. solitaryrefinement said

    Carla – Behind the Kroger? Thats where you get the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

