I Hate Doing Dishes!

December 13, 2007

I have always hated washing the dishes after a meal. The last thing I want to do is stand in front of the sink after I just had a whole T-bone steak. Paper plates and plastic forks have been my friend for a long time. When you are done with your meal you simple toss them in the trash. A few night ago this went terrible wrong! I was sitting in front of the TV enjoying some fried eggs. I had the eggs on a real plate (sometimes I get fancy) and was using just a plastic fork to cut and eat them. All of a sudden I hear “snap”. My fork broke!

I did not know what to do! I was able to finish my egg by just picking it up with my hands. There was no need to get up from in front of the TV to retrieve a replacement fork. The next day I was telling my friend Mrs. P about what happened to me. She likes to laugh at me when I do stuff like this. Later in the day she tells me to come outside and meet her. What does she have? She had gone to Wal-Mart and picked up three sets of REAL flatware!!! Best part is that each pack is only $1! So this now means I have six forks, six knifes, and six spoons. All real, not plastic!

Thanks again Mrs. P I owe you one!! This is a great investment in the long run. If you think about how much a pack of plastic forks is, and how much this set is, it is a no brainer. The most important thing about having real plates and flatware is YOU MUST do the dishes.

Here is a simple tip that makes dishes easy. If you are too drunk or too lazy to wash the dishes properly after a meal simply wash all remaining food off and turn upside down in the sink. DO NOT leave dishes wet with food on them for more than a night. This is what causes mold and other funky stuff to start growing. A dry dish can last much longer in your sink than a wet one.

5 Responses to “I Hate Doing Dishes!”

  1. Robert Richards said

    The lifestyle expressed in this blog is not indicative of every single guy. I have real flatware. And dishes. You are such a hoot. Pathetic, but a hoot. 🙂

  2. solitaryrefinement said

    Robert – Glad to have you here! I hope you share some of your experiences as a single guy with us!
    Cheers,
    Nick Ryan

  3. Mr. Parx said

    The last thing I want to do is stand in front of the sink after I just had a whole T-bone steak.

    As if you’d ever have a T-bone steak at home.

    Best,
    Mr. P

  4. Mr. Parx said

    Oh, and PS – What, did you deep-fry that egg? Greasiest looking plate I ever saw.

    Remember this little mnemonic device: “Trans Fats are Tasty Fats.”

    Best,
    Mr. P.

  5. solitaryrefinement said

    Mr. P – Good point on the T-bone. Last time I had a steak at home was 2002! When I fry my eggs, I use a lot of butter. If I am also having bacon I cook the bacon first and use the left overs to cook the eggs. Nothing like having breakfast for dinner! The plate really looks greasy! I love me some Trans Fats!

    Nick Ryan

Leave a Reply

